Home - Colgate Bookstore - Bookstore Times
Bookstore Times

Latest Posts

Greg Ames Book Release Party

By Lauren Cassulis on September 13, 2017

Join us at Flour and Salt Bakery on Tuesday, October 3rd at 6:30pm for a book reading by Colgate author Greg Ames! Copies of his books will be available for purchase.

Vivid, witty and surprising, Greg Ames’s stories will move you in unexpected ways.” —Claire Messud, author of The Burning Girl

“Funeral Platter is a wonderful, witty collection of very funny and unusual short stories. Its singular characters, truly inventive premises, and manic, propulsive prose make for breakneck reading. Yet, without you knowing how it happened, these stories become genuinely insightful about our darkest secret: our loneliness.” —Dana Spiotta, author of The Innocents and Others

From the author of the award-winning novel Buffalo Lockjaw comes a powerful collection of darkly humorous short stories. A young girl uses a burnt log for her ventriloquist act; Franz Kafka and an unnamed narrator cruise a dive bar for women; a grieving couple stage and execute their own funeral; a son brings hot chowder to his caged parents. This stunning collection—packed with moments of violence and tenderness—explores the humor and unease of modern life. Since he first began publishing his fiction, Greg Ames has been praised for his willingness to take risks and the strength and freshness of his voice. Assembled here for the first time, this collection brings together the best work from a brilliant American writer, a playful and innovative artist. In these twenty original short stories, Greg Ames earns his place as one of the best writers of his generation.

In the tradition of Etgar Keret, Greg Ames’ prose style ties together the absurd hilarity and deep anguish of contemporary life. These wildly inventive stories will appeal to readers who thirst for a unique, deeply humane voice.

Greg Ames is the author of Buffalo Lockjaw, a novel that won a NAIBA Book of the Year Award. His work has appeared in numerous journals, magazines, and anthologies, including Best American Nonrequired Reading, Southern Review, McSweeney’s, North American Review, Catapult, and The Sun. He splits his time between Brooklyn and Hamilton, New York, where he is an associate professor at Colgate University.


Second Annual Halloween in Hamilton

By Lauren Cassulis on September 7, 2017

Join us in Hamilton, NY as we celebrate our second annual village-wide Halloween Party on October 31st! Enjoy some spooktacular fun with costume competitions, crafts, trick-or-treating, and a movie! Safe fun for the whole family. Check out the full schedule of events below.

From 3pm – 4pm, head over to the Colgate Bookstore for a “Lego Batman” Halloween Party! There will be pizza, crafts, and goodie bags.

Then, join the Costume Parade down Lebanon Street from 4pm – 4:30pm. Local shops will hand out treats as the children parade through town. Lebanon Street will be closed for traffic from 3:30pm – 4:30pm for safety.

Starting at 4:30pm, the Hamilton Movie Theater will play the 2017 film, “The Lego Batman Movie” (rated PG) for FREE, thanks to the Colgate Bookstore, who sponsored the movie.


Nancy Fuller Book Signing

By Lauren Cassulis on September 7, 2017

Join us for a book signing on October 28th at 10am with Nancy Fuller, host of a” Farmhouse Rules”, a cooking show on Food Network. Copies of her bestselling cookbook will be available for signing and purchase after her talk and food sampling.

Born on a 500-acre dairy farm in upstate New York, Nancy Fuller’s childhood instilled in her a love and respect for food, farmers, and the land where it is grown. After completing her education and in the throes of raising her farm family, Nancy purchased a local 1950s motel, added a restaurant, which eventually led to a successful 25-year career as a caterer. She honed her cooking style and received her training by feeding a family of eight, three times a day, seven days a week. In 2006 Nancy invested in her husband David’s company Ginsberg’s Foods, the largest independent food distribution company in the Hudson Valley. As co-owner and Executive Vice President of Ginsberg’s Foods, Nancy’s greatest influence has been to emphasize the importance in expanding the availability and quality of fresh, in season, products from the local farmers within the community. Nancy hosts an in-kitchen show on Food Network, Farmhouse Rules.

Finishing its seventh season, Farmhouse Rules has inspired millions of viewers with her personal mission to put the family back at the dinner table. Nancy’s natural charisma on camera has quickly established her as a staple on Food Network’s weekend line-up. Filmed on location at her 18th –century farmhouse, the show also provides Nancy another vehicle to advocate for the region’s hard-working farmers continuing to promote the farm to table movement, which she has long supported.

The recipes, food, friends and family on her show embody her philosophy of feeding others with simple delicious meals from the heart. Nancy serves as a judge for Food Network’s hit series Holiday Baking Championship, Spring Baking Championship, Clash of the Grandmas, Guilty Pleasures and most recently, Dessert Games. The shows have garnered over two million viewers and have been renewed for additional seasons. Nancy has also made appearances on Home & Family (Hallmark Channel), Today Show, Rachael Ray Show, The Chew, The Kitchen, In the Kitchen with David (QVC), and Wendy Williams. Nancy’s debut cookbook, published in October 2015, was featured multiple times in People Magazine, made the USA Today Best Seller List, and the Wall Street Journal’s Best Seller List. True to Nancy’s style her cookbook, titled Farmhouse Rules, highlights the area she loves and calls home. Nancy crafted recipes that are near and dear, influenced by personal stories, and feature her easy, “chop chop in the pot,” entertaining style.


Scuffy the Tugboat Story Time

By Lauren Cassulis on August 11, 2017

Generations of parents and children have cherished this classic Little Golden Book, originally published in 1946. On Saturday, September 16th at 10:30am, meet Scuffy, enjoy story time, and then build your own tugboat! Open to children of all ages.

Meant for “bigger things,” Scuffy the Tugboat leaves the man with the polka-dot tie and his little boy, and sets off to explore the world. But on his daring adventure down the river, Scuffy realizes that home is where he’d rather be, sailing in his bathtub.


Food Network’s Nancy Fuller at Good Nature’s Sunday Brunch

By Lauren Cassulis on July 21, 2017

Nancy Fuller, of Food Network’s “Farmhouse Rules,” will be at the Sunday Brunch at the Farm Brewery on Sunday, July 30th at 11am. Like Good Nature, Nancy focuses on farm-to-table cuisine and has her roots in Upstate New York. She was born on a dairy farm, and her childhood instilled in her a love and respect for food, farmers, and the land where it is grown.

 

In addition to their regular Sunday Brunch menu, Good Nature will offer a dish that Nancy will showcase in a cooking demo, pulling inspiration from her cookbook. Nancy’s demo and the brunch will feature local producers. The Colgate Bookstore will have copies of her cookbook on site available for purchase. Hamilton’s Partnership for Community Development is co-hosting the event.


Annual Sidewalk Sale

By Lauren Cassulis on June 30, 2017

Get into summer in Hamilton, NY! It’s Hamilton’s second annual SIDEWALK SALE on July 14th and 15th! The bookstore will have special sales and clearance items all weekend long.


Customer Appreciation Day: Celebrating 15 Years Downtown

By Lauren Cassulis on June 16, 2017

 

We are so excited to celebrate 15 years of being in the center of the village of Hamilton!

On Thursday, July 13th, the entire store will be 13% off (in-store and online, some exclusions apply). Enjoy FREE ice cream, and enter for a chance to win an ENO hammock!


Where’s Waldo Scavenger Hunt

By Lauren Cassulis on June 9, 2017

Join us on July 28th at 4pm for a special Where’s Waldo Grand Celebration in collaboration with the Hamilton Public Library! We will be celebrating a great month of Waldo searching at our end-of-the-month #FindWaldoLocal party! There will be a special scavenger hunt starting at the Hamilton Public Library and ending at the bookstore for pizza and prizes.

Free and open to children of all ages.


Paddington Story Time

By Lauren Cassulis on May 12, 2017

Come meet Paddington on June 3rd at 10:00am! Hailing from Peru, Paddington is famous for his love of marmalade. He is particularly fond of marmalade sandwiches. He always carries a jar of it in his suitcase, and he usually has a marmalade sandwich tucked under his hat, “in case of emergencies”.

Story time will be followed by drop-in crafts and marmalade sandwich cookies! Free and open to children of all ages.


Closed for Easter Sunday

By Lauren Cassulis on April 14, 2017

The Colgate Bookstore will be closed Sunday, April 16th. We will resume normal store hours on Monday. Have a wonderful Easter Sunday, all!

css.php