Home - Colgate Bookstore - Bookstore Times
Bookstore Times

Latest Posts

Colgate Day – October 13, 2017

By Lauren Cassulis on September 13, 2017

Every Friday the 13th is a lucky day for Colgate University. But did you ever wonder just why Colgate Day is so special?

Well, in 1817, 13 men — six clergy and seven laymen — met in the frontier settlement of Hamilton with 13 dollars, 13 prayers, and 13 articles. During that meeting, the men founded the Baptist Education Society of the State of New York, the cornerstone for what would become known as Colgate University.

That’s not our only reason to celebrate the number 13. The university’s address is 13 Oak Drive. Our zip code is 13346. The first two numbers, standing alone, are the number 13, and the sum of the remaining three totals 13.

Even the university’s motto has a connection with 13. There are — no surprise here — 13 letters in “Deo ac Veritati,” a Latin phrase meaning “For God and For Truth.”

So this superstitious number has a very special meaning on our campus. And in honor of this tradition, every Friday the 13th is declared “Colgate Day.” We invite you to join us on October 13, 2017 as we celebrate the history of our great university. Enjoy special savings and deals all day long at the Colgate Bookstore!

The entire store will be 13% off (some exclusions apply).


Greg Ames Book Release Party

By Lauren Cassulis on September 13, 2017

Join us at Flour and Salt Bakery on Tuesday, October 3rd at 6:30pm for a book reading by Colgate author Greg Ames! Copies of his books will be available for purchase.

Vivid, witty and surprising, Greg Ames’s stories will move you in unexpected ways.” —Claire Messud, author of The Burning Girl

“Funeral Platter is a wonderful, witty collection of very funny and unusual short stories. Its singular characters, truly inventive premises, and manic, propulsive prose make for breakneck reading. Yet, without you knowing how it happened, these stories become genuinely insightful about our darkest secret: our loneliness.” —Dana Spiotta, author of The Innocents and Others

From the author of the award-winning novel Buffalo Lockjaw comes a powerful collection of darkly humorous short stories. A young girl uses a burnt log for her ventriloquist act; Franz Kafka and an unnamed narrator cruise a dive bar for women; a grieving couple stage and execute their own funeral; a son brings hot chowder to his caged parents. This stunning collection—packed with moments of violence and tenderness—explores the humor and unease of modern life. Since he first began publishing his fiction, Greg Ames has been praised for his willingness to take risks and the strength and freshness of his voice. Assembled here for the first time, this collection brings together the best work from a brilliant American writer, a playful and innovative artist. In these twenty original short stories, Greg Ames earns his place as one of the best writers of his generation.

In the tradition of Etgar Keret, Greg Ames’ prose style ties together the absurd hilarity and deep anguish of contemporary life. These wildly inventive stories will appeal to readers who thirst for a unique, deeply humane voice.

Greg Ames is the author of Buffalo Lockjaw, a novel that won a NAIBA Book of the Year Award. His work has appeared in numerous journals, magazines, and anthologies, including Best American Nonrequired Reading, Southern Review, McSweeney’s, North American Review, Catapult, and The Sun. He splits his time between Brooklyn and Hamilton, New York, where he is an associate professor at Colgate University.


Customer Appreciation Day: Celebrating 15 Years Downtown

By Lauren Cassulis on June 16, 2017

 

We are so excited to celebrate 15 years of being in the center of the village of Hamilton!

On Thursday, July 13th, the entire store will be 13% off (in-store and online, some exclusions apply). Enjoy FREE ice cream, and enter for a chance to win an ENO hammock!


32nd Annual Alumni Authors Book Signing

By Lauren Cassulis on May 17, 2017

Please join us at the Colgate Bookstore on Saturday, June 3rd at 12:30pm as we host a variety of Colgate authors for readings and signings on the first floor. This event is open to the general public. Copies of the authors’ books will be available for purchase and signing.

Authors include: Kathryn Bertine (1997), Linda Buchanan (1977), Edwin Garrubbo (1987), Katie O’Sullivan (1987), Lang Hatcher (1954) and Mel Watkins (1962).


New: Patagonia

By Lauren Cassulis on April 21, 2017

We are proud to announce that the Colgate Bookstore has become one of the premier collegiate retailers of Patagonia! This is a very exciting opportunity for us to continue to provide you with the highest quality apparel from a leading brand.

We carry a range of colors and styles in both men’s and women’s to meet everyone’s needs. In-store only.


New: Colgate Cornhole

By Lauren Cassulis on April 7, 2017

With warmer weather (hopefully!) coming soon, we are excited to announce a new Colgate twist on a classic summer game: Colgate Cornhole!

We have two Colgate Cornhole sets available at the bookstore – the traditional, heavyweight outdoor version, and a smaller, tabletop version for indoor parties and events. 

If you haven’t played Cornhole before, or don’t remember the rules of play, read on!

Find a nice flat surface on your backyard, in a parking lot, the beach, etc. Set up your boards directly facing each other with 27 feet between the front edges of each board. Cornhole can be played with 2 or 4 players. Pick which side of the board you’ll throw from. Pick your bags (4 for each team) and get ready to play!

Decide who goes first, then take turns throwing bags with your opponent. Your feet may not go past the front edge of the board. If they do, a foul is called and you get pelted with Cornhole bags. Also, a tossed bag may not touch the ground. If it hits the ground and bounces up on the board, remove it before any other bags are thrown. If it’s hanging off the board and touching the ground, remove that as well. When all 8 bags have been tossed to the other side, add up the score (see scoring below). If you earned the most points in that single round, your team will throw first in the next round.

Scoring is simple. After all bags have been thrown, a bag remaining on the board is worth 1 point. A bag that went in the hole is worth 3 points. Add up how many points you earned and compare them to your opponents. Equal points cancel each other out so that only one team can score per round. A game is won when a team reaches 21 points with a lead of 2 or more points. The first team to win 2 games wins the match.

Want to impress your friends and family? Check out these essential Cornhole terms.

Woody, Boarder: A bag that ends up on the board.

Cornhole, Holer, Corn in the Hole: A bag that ends up in the hole.

Dos Cornhole’s: Throwing two bags in the hole.

Holy Moly Triple Cornholy: Throwing 3 bags in the hole.

The Great Cornholio: A person that throws 4 bags in the hole. All present are required to bow down in reverence to this cornholer.

Get that corn outta my face!: A term used whenever you successfully counteract your opponent’s attempt to score. For example, when you put a bag in the hole immediately after your opponent does or when you successfully knock your opponent’s bag off the board.

Corn On The Cob: When a player puts every bag on the board.

Nothin’ But Corn: When a bag is tossed right through the hole without touching the board.


2/10: One Day Only Colgate Sale

By Lauren Cassulis on January 27, 2017

 

Show your love for Colgate and shop our ONE DAY ONLY store wide sale! On February 10th, everything in-store and online will be 13% off (some exclusions do apply.)

 

Plus, we’re introducing The Colgate Bundle! For a limited time, you can get two t-shirts and a hooded sweatshirt for only $39.99 (valued at $75). Don’t miss this great event! The bookstore will be open from 9am – 5:30pm.


Colgate Day: January 13, 2017

By Lauren Cassulis on January 5, 2017

Every Friday the 13th is a lucky day for Colgate University. But did you ever wonder just why Colgate Day is so special?

Well, in 1817, 13 men — six clergy and seven laymen — met in the frontier settlement of Hamilton with 13 dollars, 13 prayers, and 13 articles. During that meeting, the men founded the Baptist Education Society of the State of New York, the cornerstone for what would become known as Colgate University.

That’s not our only reason to celebrate the number 13. The university’s address is 13 Oak Drive. Our zip code is 13346. The first two numbers, standing alone, are the number 13, and the sum of the remaining three totals 13.

Even the university’s motto has a connection with 13. There are — no surprise here — 13 letters in “Deo ac Veritati,” a Latin phrase meaning “For God and For Truth.”

So we say, “Wear thirteen proudly. Live it out: Learn new things, engage with new persons, climb new hills.” And in honor of this tradition, every Friday the 13th is declared “Colgate Day.” We invite you to join us on January 13, 2017 as we celebrate the history of our great university. The entire Colgate Bookstore will be on sale (usual exclusions apply) with special savings and deals all day long!


North Pole Ninjas Story Time

By Lauren Cassulis on December 7, 2016

Join us at the Colgate Bookstore on December 17th at 10:30am for a story time about the North Pole Ninjas! Hear their story, learn about the true meaning of Christmas from the North Pole Ninja Sensei, and carry out Ninja missions of your own! Story time will be followed by crafts, snacks, and photos with the North Pole Ninja Sensei! Free, and open to children of all ages.

 

About the North Pole Ninjas: You may not know that Santa has a team of special elves, selected for their ability to help carry out top-secret missions that are all about helping, giving, caring, and listening. Children can help carry out these top secret missions with a bit of stealth and an open heart. North Pole Ninjas is a terrific new story by Tyler Knott Gregson and Sarah Linden. The book comes with 50 special tasks packed in a special envelope – unique Ninja missions for children to carry out themselves. North Pole Ninjas also comes with a plush and huggable “sensei” to guide Ninjas on their journey. This book set is the perfect antidote to worrying about whether you’ve been naughty or nice.


December 9th: Customer Appreciation Day

By Lauren Cassulis on December 2, 2016

fgffJoin us at the Colgate Bookstore on Friday, December 9th as we celebrate YOU, our valued customers. The entire store will be 13% off (some exclusions do apply). Enjoy locally made refreshments, and enter for the chance to win a drone! We will be open from 9am – 8pm.

Faculty and staff discounts will stack on all sales.

css.php