Home - Colgate Bookstore - Bookstore Times
Bookstore Times

Latest Posts

Colgate Day & Customer Appreciation Day

By Lauren Cassulis on June 6, 2018

We’re combining Colgate Day with our annual Customer Appreciation Day and it’s gonna be epic! The entire store will be 13% off (in-store and online, some exclusions apply). Enjoy FREE ice cream (while supplies last).

Every Friday the 13th is a lucky day for Colgate University. But did you ever wonder just why Colgate Day is so special?

Well, in 1817, 13 men — six clergy and seven laymen — met in the frontier settlement of Hamilton with 13 dollars, 13 prayers, and 13 articles. During that meeting, the men founded the Baptist Education Society of the State of New York, the cornerstone for what would become known as Colgate University.

That’s not our only reason to celebrate the number 13. The university’s address is 13 Oak Drive. Our zip code is 13346. The first two numbers, standing alone, are the number 13, and the sum of the remaining three totals 13.

Even the university’s motto has a connection with 13. There are — no surprise here — 13 letters in “Deo ac Veritati,” a Latin phrase meaning “For God and For Truth.”

So this superstitious number has a very special meaning on our campus. And in honor of this tradition, every Friday the 13th is declared “Colgate Day.” We invite you to join us on July 13, 2018 as we celebrate the history of our great university. Enjoy special savings and deals all day long at the Colgate Bookstore!

The entire store will be 13% off (some exclusions apply). Sale includes S’well, Alex and Ani, and Patagonia.


Rain Forest Animals from the Utica Zoo

By Lauren Cassulis on May 3, 2018

Join us at the Colgate Bookstore on Saturday, June 2nd from 11am – 12pm for the Utica Zoomobile: Rain Forest Animals! Meet rain forest reptiles, insects, and a Sumatran Chicken! Free and open to children of all ages.

Utica Zoo creates unique experiences and promotes public appreciation of wildlife through education, conservation and recreation. Located in Roscoe-Conkling Park, the zoo is part of a recreational complex made possible by the donation of land from Thomas R. Proctor in 1909.The first building, completed in 1920, is currently named the Wildlife Building and houses the administrative offices, auditorium, reptile exhibits and the zoo’ s kitchen.  In 1981, the Animal Care Center was added to the Wildlife Building for the quarantine and veterinary facilities. The first building made exclusively for animal use was completed in 1927 and still houses the primate collection. Other major exhibits include the Lion exhibit and the California sea lion exhibit (finished in 1986).


33rd Annual Alumni Author Book Signing

By Lauren Cassulis on April 30, 2018

Join us at the Colgate Bookstore on Saturday, June 2nd at 12:30pm as we host our 33rd Annual Alumni Author Book Signing! Copies of the authors’ books will be available for purchase and autographing.

The following alumni authors will be available for book signings:

Lauren Braun Costello ‘98
Eileen Coffey-Cowley ‘88
Teresa Delgado ‘88
Mark Moyer ‘86
Bernard Resnick ‘83
Bernard Siegel, MD ‘53
Jennifer Smith ’03
Al Yellon ’78

 

Paul Pinet, Professor of Geology and Environmental Studies, will also be signing copies of his book, “Shadowed by Deep Time”. His landscape watercolor paintings will be on display on the third floor.


Colgate Day – Friday, April 13, 2018

By Lauren Cassulis on March 15, 2018

Every Friday the 13th is a lucky day for Colgate University. But did you ever wonder just why Colgate Day is so special?

Well, in 1817, 13 men — six clergy and seven laymen — met in the frontier settlement of Hamilton with 13 dollars, 13 prayers, and 13 articles. During that meeting, the men founded the Baptist Education Society of the State of New York, the cornerstone for what would become known as Colgate University.

That’s not our only reason to celebrate the number 13. The university’s address is 13 Oak Drive. Our zip code is 13346. The first two numbers, standing alone, are the number 13, and the sum of the remaining three totals 13.

Even the university’s motto has a connection with 13. There are — no surprise here — 13 letters in “Deo ac Veritati,” a Latin phrase meaning “For God and For Truth.”

So this superstitious number has a very special meaning on our campus. And in honor of this tradition, every Friday the 13th is declared “Colgate Day.” We invite you to join us on April 13, 2018 as we celebrate the history of our great university. Enjoy special savings and deals all day long at the Colgate Bookstore!

The entire store will be 13% off (some exclusions apply). Sale includes S’well and Alex and Ani.


Booklovers Club Holiday Reception

By Lauren Cassulis on November 2, 2017

Calling all booklovers!

Come to our annual reception on Tuesday, November 28th from 6pm – 7pm to receive free books, and enter to win more! Enjoy locally made refreshments and receive expert personal assistance while shopping for the holidays.

Here’s how it works: Our friends in publishing have donated great books, which we combine into bundles. For every book you purchase at the reception, you’ll receive one raffle ticket. Browse through the bundles to find the perfect collection. Then, place your raffle ticket on the bundle of your choice, and see if you are the winner! All drawings for book bundles will be held at 7:00pm. You need not be present to win.

Want even more free books? Come browse our huge collection of free advance reading copies – including books that haven’t even been published yet!

This event is open to book club members and the general public. Book club members will receive double stamps for every book purchased that night.


Colgate Day – October 13, 2017

By Lauren Cassulis on September 13, 2017

Every Friday the 13th is a lucky day for Colgate University. But did you ever wonder just why Colgate Day is so special?

Well, in 1817, 13 men — six clergy and seven laymen — met in the frontier settlement of Hamilton with 13 dollars, 13 prayers, and 13 articles. During that meeting, the men founded the Baptist Education Society of the State of New York, the cornerstone for what would become known as Colgate University.

That’s not our only reason to celebrate the number 13. The university’s address is 13 Oak Drive. Our zip code is 13346. The first two numbers, standing alone, are the number 13, and the sum of the remaining three totals 13.

Even the university’s motto has a connection with 13. There are — no surprise here — 13 letters in “Deo ac Veritati,” a Latin phrase meaning “For God and For Truth.”

So this superstitious number has a very special meaning on our campus. And in honor of this tradition, every Friday the 13th is declared “Colgate Day.” We invite you to join us on October 13, 2017 as we celebrate the history of our great university. Enjoy special savings and deals all day long at the Colgate Bookstore!

The entire store will be 13% off (some exclusions apply).


Greg Ames Book Release Party

By Lauren Cassulis on September 13, 2017

Join us at Flour and Salt Bakery on Tuesday, October 3rd at 6:30pm for a book reading by Colgate author Greg Ames! Copies of his books will be available for purchase.

Vivid, witty and surprising, Greg Ames’s stories will move you in unexpected ways.” —Claire Messud, author of The Burning Girl

“Funeral Platter is a wonderful, witty collection of very funny and unusual short stories. Its singular characters, truly inventive premises, and manic, propulsive prose make for breakneck reading. Yet, without you knowing how it happened, these stories become genuinely insightful about our darkest secret: our loneliness.” —Dana Spiotta, author of The Innocents and Others

From the author of the award-winning novel Buffalo Lockjaw comes a powerful collection of darkly humorous short stories. A young girl uses a burnt log for her ventriloquist act; Franz Kafka and an unnamed narrator cruise a dive bar for women; a grieving couple stage and execute their own funeral; a son brings hot chowder to his caged parents. This stunning collection—packed with moments of violence and tenderness—explores the humor and unease of modern life. Since he first began publishing his fiction, Greg Ames has been praised for his willingness to take risks and the strength and freshness of his voice. Assembled here for the first time, this collection brings together the best work from a brilliant American writer, a playful and innovative artist. In these twenty original short stories, Greg Ames earns his place as one of the best writers of his generation.

In the tradition of Etgar Keret, Greg Ames’ prose style ties together the absurd hilarity and deep anguish of contemporary life. These wildly inventive stories will appeal to readers who thirst for a unique, deeply humane voice.

Greg Ames is the author of Buffalo Lockjaw, a novel that won a NAIBA Book of the Year Award. His work has appeared in numerous journals, magazines, and anthologies, including Best American Nonrequired Reading, Southern Review, McSweeney’s, North American Review, Catapult, and The Sun. He splits his time between Brooklyn and Hamilton, New York, where he is an associate professor at Colgate University.


Customer Appreciation Day: Celebrating 15 Years Downtown

By Lauren Cassulis on June 16, 2017

 

We are so excited to celebrate 15 years of being in the center of the village of Hamilton!

On Thursday, July 13th, the entire store will be 13% off (in-store and online, some exclusions apply). Enjoy FREE ice cream, and enter for a chance to win an ENO hammock!


32nd Annual Alumni Authors Book Signing

By Lauren Cassulis on May 17, 2017

Please join us at the Colgate Bookstore on Saturday, June 3rd at 12:30pm as we host a variety of Colgate authors for readings and signings on the first floor. This event is open to the general public. Copies of the authors’ books will be available for purchase and signing.

Authors include: Kathryn Bertine (1997), Linda Buchanan (1977), Edwin Garrubbo (1987), Katie O’Sullivan (1987), Lang Hatcher (1954) and Mel Watkins (1962).


New: Patagonia

By Lauren Cassulis on April 21, 2017

We are proud to announce that the Colgate Bookstore has become one of the premier collegiate retailers of Patagonia! This is a very exciting opportunity for us to continue to provide you with the highest quality apparel from a leading brand.

We carry a range of colors and styles in both men’s and women’s to meet everyone’s needs. In-store only.

css.php