Home - Colgate Bookstore - Bookstore Times
Bookstore Times

Latest Posts

Chopped Cooking Competition: For Kids

By Lauren Cassulis on January 9, 2018

Young fans of the popular Food Network TV series Chopped can test their budding culinary skills on Saturday, February 17th at the Colgate Bookstore. They will race against the clock to master the secret ingredients and win prizes! The fun begins at 10:30am in the 3rd floor events room, but contestants are asked to arrive at 10:15am.

6 teams of 3 will present their masterpieces to a panel of judges who will critique them according to creativity and presentation. Three of these teams will advance to the final challenge and the chance to win prizes!

This competition is open to children between the ages of 5 and 12. Children of all ages are invited to cheer on their favorite chef! Contestant slots are limited so please pre-register by emailing lcassulis@colgate.edu or texting 315-228-7480 with the name, age and contact info for the contestant. Those who pre-register will receive a special mystery gift! Depending on pre-registration, some spots may be available at the door on a first come, first serve basis.


Yoga Poses for Kids

By Lauren Cassulis on January 3, 2018

Join us on Saturday, January 20th at 10:30am for Yoga Poses for Kids! Laurie Zbock, MS, LMT, RYT will lead a free class for kids of all ages as they explore yoga poses, stretching and breathing exercises. Crafts and snacks will be provided.

Afterwards, learn about the benefits of infant massage! Laurie specializes in parent education for infant massage, highlighting the importance of a secure environment and nurturing touch in the healthy growth, development and maturation of children.

Laurie Zbock has been in practice as a licensed massage therapist since 2004. She holds an Associates Degree in Massage Therapy from Morrisville State College where she also teaches full time as a massage therapy professor and serves as the department chair. She also earned both her bachelors and masters degrees from Utica College. The main focus of Laurie’s massage practice is therapeutic and rehabilitation massage. Laurie holds many specialty certifications including prenatal massage (including labor and delivery), infant massage and parent education, aromatherapy, eastern therapeutic massage, lomi-lomi Hawaiian prayer massage, cervical and shoulder soft tissue manipulation and many more.


Customer Appreciation Day

By Lauren Cassulis on November 22, 2017

 

 

Join us on Friday, December 8th at the Colgate Bookstore as we celebrate YOU, our valued customers. The entire store will be 13% off (exclusions do apply). Enjoy locally made refreshments.


Story Time: If You Give A Mouse a (Christmas) Cookie

By Lauren Cassulis on November 22, 2017

 

On Saturday, December 16th at 10:30am, meet Mouse at the Colgate Bookstore! Story time will be followed by cookies and crafts. This event is free and open to children of all ages.


Maroon Friday: November 24th

By Lauren Cassulis on November 2, 2017

 

Shop HUGE sales on Maroon Friday, November 24th! The entire gift wing and all books and toys will be 20% off. Plus, our new Tervis Tumblers and Colgate socks will be 20% off, too!

Sales are in-store and online.


Shop Small Saturday

By Lauren Cassulis on November 2, 2017

Small Business Saturday (November 25th) is the day we celebrate the Shop Small movement to drive shoppers to local merchants across the U.S.

The entire gift wing and all books and toys will be 20% off. Plus, our new Tervis Tumblers and Colgate socks will be 20% off, too! Enjoy locally made refreshments as you #shoplocal. Sales are in-store and online.


Holiday Open House

By Lauren Cassulis on November 2, 2017

It’s never too early to shop for the holidays! On Friday, November 17th, the village of Hamilton is hosting a Holiday Open House. Participating Hamilton stores will be open late to kick off the holiday season with refreshments and giveaways.

The entire store will be 13% off from 5pm – 7pm! We will have locally made refreshments and cider, plus you can enter to win a basket of books. Happy shopping!


Booklovers Club Holiday Reception

By Lauren Cassulis on November 2, 2017

Calling all booklovers!

Come to our annual reception on Tuesday, November 28th from 6pm – 7pm to receive free books, and enter to win more! Enjoy locally made refreshments and receive expert personal assistance while shopping for the holidays.

Here’s how it works: Our friends in publishing have donated great books, which we combine into bundles. For every book you purchase at the reception, you’ll receive one raffle ticket. Browse through the bundles to find the perfect collection. Then, place your raffle ticket on the bundle of your choice, and see if you are the winner! All drawings for book bundles will be held at 7:00pm. You need not be present to win.

Want even more free books? Come browse our huge collection of free advance reading copies – including books that haven’t even been published yet!

This event is open to book club members and the general public. Book club members will receive double stamps for every book purchased that night.


Colgate Day – October 13, 2017

By Lauren Cassulis on September 13, 2017

Every Friday the 13th is a lucky day for Colgate University. But did you ever wonder just why Colgate Day is so special?

Well, in 1817, 13 men — six clergy and seven laymen — met in the frontier settlement of Hamilton with 13 dollars, 13 prayers, and 13 articles. During that meeting, the men founded the Baptist Education Society of the State of New York, the cornerstone for what would become known as Colgate University.

That’s not our only reason to celebrate the number 13. The university’s address is 13 Oak Drive. Our zip code is 13346. The first two numbers, standing alone, are the number 13, and the sum of the remaining three totals 13.

Even the university’s motto has a connection with 13. There are — no surprise here — 13 letters in “Deo ac Veritati,” a Latin phrase meaning “For God and For Truth.”

So this superstitious number has a very special meaning on our campus. And in honor of this tradition, every Friday the 13th is declared “Colgate Day.” We invite you to join us on October 13, 2017 as we celebrate the history of our great university. Enjoy special savings and deals all day long at the Colgate Bookstore!

The entire store will be 13% off (some exclusions apply).


Greg Ames Book Release Party

By Lauren Cassulis on September 13, 2017

Join us at Flour and Salt Bakery on Tuesday, October 3rd at 6:30pm for a book reading by Colgate author Greg Ames! Copies of his books will be available for purchase.

Vivid, witty and surprising, Greg Ames’s stories will move you in unexpected ways.” —Claire Messud, author of The Burning Girl

“Funeral Platter is a wonderful, witty collection of very funny and unusual short stories. Its singular characters, truly inventive premises, and manic, propulsive prose make for breakneck reading. Yet, without you knowing how it happened, these stories become genuinely insightful about our darkest secret: our loneliness.” —Dana Spiotta, author of The Innocents and Others

From the author of the award-winning novel Buffalo Lockjaw comes a powerful collection of darkly humorous short stories. A young girl uses a burnt log for her ventriloquist act; Franz Kafka and an unnamed narrator cruise a dive bar for women; a grieving couple stage and execute their own funeral; a son brings hot chowder to his caged parents. This stunning collection—packed with moments of violence and tenderness—explores the humor and unease of modern life. Since he first began publishing his fiction, Greg Ames has been praised for his willingness to take risks and the strength and freshness of his voice. Assembled here for the first time, this collection brings together the best work from a brilliant American writer, a playful and innovative artist. In these twenty original short stories, Greg Ames earns his place as one of the best writers of his generation.

In the tradition of Etgar Keret, Greg Ames’ prose style ties together the absurd hilarity and deep anguish of contemporary life. These wildly inventive stories will appeal to readers who thirst for a unique, deeply humane voice.

Greg Ames is the author of Buffalo Lockjaw, a novel that won a NAIBA Book of the Year Award. His work has appeared in numerous journals, magazines, and anthologies, including Best American Nonrequired Reading, Southern Review, McSweeney’s, North American Review, Catapult, and The Sun. He splits his time between Brooklyn and Hamilton, New York, where he is an associate professor at Colgate University.

css.php