Home - Colgate Bookstore - Bookstore Times
Bookstore Times

Latest Posts

Maroon Friday: November 24th

By Lauren Cassulis on November 2, 2017

 

Shop HUGE sales on Maroon Friday, November 24th! The entire gift wing and all books and toys will be 20% off. Plus, our new Tervis Tumblers and Colgate socks will be 20% off, too!

Sales are in-store and online.


Shop Small Saturday

By Lauren Cassulis on November 2, 2017

Small Business Saturday (November 25th) is the day we celebrate the Shop Small movement to drive shoppers to local merchants across the U.S.

The entire gift wing and all books and toys will be 20% off. Plus, our new Tervis Tumblers and Colgate socks will be 20% off, too! Enjoy locally made refreshments as you #shoplocal. Sales are in-store and online.


Holiday Open House

By Lauren Cassulis on November 2, 2017

It’s never too early to shop for the holidays! On Friday, November 17th, the village of Hamilton is hosting a Holiday Open House. Participating Hamilton stores will be open late to kick off the holiday season with refreshments and giveaways.

The entire store will be 13% off from 5pm – 7pm! We will have locally made refreshments and cider, plus you can enter to win a basket of books. Happy shopping!


Booklovers Club Holiday Reception

By Lauren Cassulis on November 2, 2017

Calling all booklovers!

Come to our annual reception on Tuesday, November 28th from 6pm – 7pm to receive free books, and enter to win more! Enjoy locally made refreshments and receive expert personal assistance while shopping for the holidays.

Here’s how it works: Our friends in publishing have donated great books, which we combine into bundles. For every book you purchase at the reception, you’ll receive one raffle ticket. Browse through the bundles to find the perfect collection. Then, place your raffle ticket on the bundle of your choice, and see if you are the winner! All drawings for book bundles will be held at 7:00pm. You need not be present to win.

Want even more free books? Come browse our huge collection of free advance reading copies – including books that haven’t even been published yet!

This event is open to book club members and the general public. Book club members will receive double stamps for every book purchased that night.


Colgate Day – October 13, 2017

By Lauren Cassulis on September 13, 2017

Every Friday the 13th is a lucky day for Colgate University. But did you ever wonder just why Colgate Day is so special?

Well, in 1817, 13 men — six clergy and seven laymen — met in the frontier settlement of Hamilton with 13 dollars, 13 prayers, and 13 articles. During that meeting, the men founded the Baptist Education Society of the State of New York, the cornerstone for what would become known as Colgate University.

That’s not our only reason to celebrate the number 13. The university’s address is 13 Oak Drive. Our zip code is 13346. The first two numbers, standing alone, are the number 13, and the sum of the remaining three totals 13.

Even the university’s motto has a connection with 13. There are — no surprise here — 13 letters in “Deo ac Veritati,” a Latin phrase meaning “For God and For Truth.”

So this superstitious number has a very special meaning on our campus. And in honor of this tradition, every Friday the 13th is declared “Colgate Day.” We invite you to join us on October 13, 2017 as we celebrate the history of our great university. Enjoy special savings and deals all day long at the Colgate Bookstore!

The entire store will be 13% off (some exclusions apply).


Greg Ames Book Release Party

By Lauren Cassulis on September 13, 2017

Join us at Flour and Salt Bakery on Tuesday, October 3rd at 6:30pm for a book reading by Colgate author Greg Ames! Copies of his books will be available for purchase.

Vivid, witty and surprising, Greg Ames’s stories will move you in unexpected ways.” —Claire Messud, author of The Burning Girl

“Funeral Platter is a wonderful, witty collection of very funny and unusual short stories. Its singular characters, truly inventive premises, and manic, propulsive prose make for breakneck reading. Yet, without you knowing how it happened, these stories become genuinely insightful about our darkest secret: our loneliness.” —Dana Spiotta, author of The Innocents and Others

From the author of the award-winning novel Buffalo Lockjaw comes a powerful collection of darkly humorous short stories. A young girl uses a burnt log for her ventriloquist act; Franz Kafka and an unnamed narrator cruise a dive bar for women; a grieving couple stage and execute their own funeral; a son brings hot chowder to his caged parents. This stunning collection—packed with moments of violence and tenderness—explores the humor and unease of modern life. Since he first began publishing his fiction, Greg Ames has been praised for his willingness to take risks and the strength and freshness of his voice. Assembled here for the first time, this collection brings together the best work from a brilliant American writer, a playful and innovative artist. In these twenty original short stories, Greg Ames earns his place as one of the best writers of his generation.

In the tradition of Etgar Keret, Greg Ames’ prose style ties together the absurd hilarity and deep anguish of contemporary life. These wildly inventive stories will appeal to readers who thirst for a unique, deeply humane voice.

Greg Ames is the author of Buffalo Lockjaw, a novel that won a NAIBA Book of the Year Award. His work has appeared in numerous journals, magazines, and anthologies, including Best American Nonrequired Reading, Southern Review, McSweeney’s, North American Review, Catapult, and The Sun. He splits his time between Brooklyn and Hamilton, New York, where he is an associate professor at Colgate University.


Second Annual Halloween in Hamilton

By Lauren Cassulis on September 7, 2017

Join us in Hamilton, NY as we celebrate our second annual village-wide Halloween Party on October 31st! Enjoy some spooktacular fun with costume competitions, crafts, trick-or-treating, and a movie! Safe fun for the whole family. Check out the full schedule of events below.

From 3pm – 4pm, head over to the Colgate Bookstore for a “Lego Batman” Halloween Party! There will be pizza, crafts, and goodie bags.

Then, join the Costume Parade down Lebanon Street from 4pm – 4:30pm. Local shops will hand out treats as the children parade through town. Lebanon Street will be closed for traffic from 3:30pm – 4:30pm for safety.

Starting at 4:30pm, the Hamilton Movie Theater will play the 2017 film, “The Lego Batman Movie” (rated PG) for FREE, thanks to the Colgate Bookstore, who sponsored the movie.


Nancy Fuller Book Signing

By Lauren Cassulis on September 7, 2017

Join us for a book signing on October 28th at 10am with Nancy Fuller, host of a” Farmhouse Rules”, a cooking show on Food Network. Copies of her bestselling cookbook will be available for signing and purchase after her talk and food sampling.

Born on a 500-acre dairy farm in upstate New York, Nancy Fuller’s childhood instilled in her a love and respect for food, farmers, and the land where it is grown. After completing her education and in the throes of raising her farm family, Nancy purchased a local 1950s motel, added a restaurant, which eventually led to a successful 25-year career as a caterer. She honed her cooking style and received her training by feeding a family of eight, three times a day, seven days a week. In 2006 Nancy invested in her husband David’s company Ginsberg’s Foods, the largest independent food distribution company in the Hudson Valley. As co-owner and Executive Vice President of Ginsberg’s Foods, Nancy’s greatest influence has been to emphasize the importance in expanding the availability and quality of fresh, in season, products from the local farmers within the community. Nancy hosts an in-kitchen show on Food Network, Farmhouse Rules.

Finishing its seventh season, Farmhouse Rules has inspired millions of viewers with her personal mission to put the family back at the dinner table. Nancy’s natural charisma on camera has quickly established her as a staple on Food Network’s weekend line-up. Filmed on location at her 18th –century farmhouse, the show also provides Nancy another vehicle to advocate for the region’s hard-working farmers continuing to promote the farm to table movement, which she has long supported.

The recipes, food, friends and family on her show embody her philosophy of feeding others with simple delicious meals from the heart. Nancy serves as a judge for Food Network’s hit series Holiday Baking Championship, Spring Baking Championship, Clash of the Grandmas, Guilty Pleasures and most recently, Dessert Games. The shows have garnered over two million viewers and have been renewed for additional seasons. Nancy has also made appearances on Home & Family (Hallmark Channel), Today Show, Rachael Ray Show, The Chew, The Kitchen, In the Kitchen with David (QVC), and Wendy Williams. Nancy’s debut cookbook, published in October 2015, was featured multiple times in People Magazine, made the USA Today Best Seller List, and the Wall Street Journal’s Best Seller List. True to Nancy’s style her cookbook, titled Farmhouse Rules, highlights the area she loves and calls home. Nancy crafted recipes that are near and dear, influenced by personal stories, and feature her easy, “chop chop in the pot,” entertaining style.


Scuffy the Tugboat Story Time

By Lauren Cassulis on August 11, 2017

Generations of parents and children have cherished this classic Little Golden Book, originally published in 1946. On Saturday, September 16th at 10:30am, meet Scuffy, enjoy story time, and then build your own tugboat! Open to children of all ages.

Meant for “bigger things,” Scuffy the Tugboat leaves the man with the polka-dot tie and his little boy, and sets off to explore the world. But on his daring adventure down the river, Scuffy realizes that home is where he’d rather be, sailing in his bathtub.


Food Network’s Nancy Fuller at Good Nature’s Sunday Brunch

By Lauren Cassulis on July 21, 2017

Nancy Fuller, of Food Network’s “Farmhouse Rules,” will be at the Sunday Brunch at the Farm Brewery on Sunday, July 30th at 11am. Like Good Nature, Nancy focuses on farm-to-table cuisine and has her roots in Upstate New York. She was born on a dairy farm, and her childhood instilled in her a love and respect for food, farmers, and the land where it is grown.

 

In addition to their regular Sunday Brunch menu, Good Nature will offer a dish that Nancy will showcase in a cooking demo, pulling inspiration from her cookbook. Nancy’s demo and the brunch will feature local producers. The Colgate Bookstore will have copies of her cookbook on site available for purchase. Hamilton’s Partnership for Community Development is co-hosting the event.

css.php